Hearing God’s Voice

I think there has been a misunderstanding concerning Justin Peters. It has been said that he does not believe God speaks to us through His Holy Spirit. After viewing the video below, I can see it is just a misunderstanding. Does Peters think God has burning bush moments today? No. Neither do I.

The Word of God as presented in the Holy Scriptures is LIVING.

12 For the word of God is living and powerful, and sharper than any two-edged sword, piercing even to the division of soul and spirit, and of joints and marrow, and is a discerner of the thoughts and intents of the heart. Hebrews 4

1 6 All Scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness, 2 Timothy 3

In the past God spoke to our ancestors through the prophets at many times and in various ways, but in these last days he has spoken to us by his Son, whom he appointed heir of all things, and through whom also he made the universe. Hebrews 1

There is a growing movement (for lack of a better word) of Christian mysticism. The Word of God isn’t enough. People want experiences. They want to be overwhelmed with emotion. Sometimes I am overwhelmed with gratitude and love when I consider what He has done for me. And yes, I experience God. I experience Him when I read the Word, and I can see how He is working in my life and in the lives of others. Christian mysticism goes beyond that, though.

Here is a quote directly from Christianmystics.com: So, what is a Christian Mystic? A person concerned not with knowing the letter of the Word, or religious dogmas, but with knowing the Spirit of the Word, which is to say living from within the experience of God’s word at the very core of being.

The emphasis is taken off the Word of God. Although they say they are to discard the ego and personal pride, in an effort to walk with Jesus in every day life, the whole concept seems very self-centered to me. After all, they aren’t concerned with the Word, only with their experiences.

Folks, if ever the Word is not important, Jesus is not important.

15 Study to shew thyself approved unto God, a workman that needeth not to be ashamed, rightly dividing the word of truth.16 But shun profane and vain babblings: for they will increase unto more ungodliness. 2 Timothy 2

11 These were more fair-minded than those in Thessalonica, in that they received the word with all readiness, and searched the Scriptures daily to find out whether these things were so….Acts 17

These are the last days. The enemy is working over time and has infiltrated our churches with confusion and false teachings. he is taking the emphasis off Jesus, sin, repentance and the true Gospel is a myriad of ways.

For there shall arise false Christs, and false prophets, and shall shew great signs and wonders; insomuch that, if it were possible, they shall deceive the very elect.Matthew 24: 2

 

19 thoughts on “Hearing God’s Voice

  1. Free of mother duties for 30 minutes!

    Ok, dear sister, you and I see eye to eye on most things, but in love I exhort you not to be so quick to judge others. Yes, many of our Charismatic brethren tend to err on the side of falling prey to their feelings, but realize also there are the modern day Pharisees who err on the side of falling prey to their thoughts, and thereby miss the living God – the Holy Spirit – in our midst.

    As Jesus and the apostles modeled for us, we must apprehend both the word and the Spirit! God made our soul (mind, emotions, and will – thoughts, feelings, and desires) to serve our spirit (which in Christ is one with Him); we must continuously discern what is the Lord and what is of our old self, as Paul writes.

    Regarding “Does Peters think God has burning bush moments today? No. Neither do I,” I lovingly remind you (and our sisters Hope Wingo and Elizabeth Prata) of these glorious truths:

    Jesus Christ is the same yesterday, and today and forever. (Heb. 13:8)

    Believe me when I say that I am in the Father and the Father is in me; or at least believe on the evidence of the miracles themselves. I tell you the truth, anyone who has faith in me will do what I have been doing. He will do even greater things than these, because I am going to the Father. And I will do whatever you ask in my name… (John 14:11-13) [Are we “doing” the miracles He did? If not, it is not because Jesus has changed; it is because we do not (1) KNOW God’s word, (2) BELIEVE it, or (3) WALK IT OUT in accordance with the Holy Spirit.]

    And these signs will accompany those who believe: In my name they will drive out demons… they will place their hands on sick people and they will get well. (Mark 16:17-18). [Anyone in our families sick?…]

    My time is limited now, so please also prayerfully reread and digest these Scriptures regarding the importance of the Holy Spirit IN ADDITION to the word. Praise God, He has given us BOTH. We must be mindful not to neglect either one!

    Gal. 1:11-12
    John 8:40, 47
    1 Cor. 2:10-16; 6:17
    Rev. 2:7, 11, 17, 28; 3:6, 13, 22

    John 5:19-20, 30; 6:38; 7:16, 28; 8:27-29, 47, 49; 11:48-50; again 14-10-14; 14:23-24, 26; 16:12-15.

    Love you, my sisters!

    • Did you even watch the video? All the way to the end? I have nothing more to say on the matter for it seems clear to me you have a spirit of criticism and speak before really thinking. For some reason you are missing the point being made. You accuse me of judging others when you are doing the same to Peters by calling him a false teacher. I think you are missing the point of what is being said. Like the few times you didn’t get some of the jokes I’ve posted. Idk, what it is. I believe you are sincere, but you are too quick to criticize. If you listen carefully to the video it should clear things up. If it doesn’t, then we must disagree.

  2. Hello Marcia. Hopefully I won’t come off as criticizing either. I do have some issues with this man’s teachings, however.

    He quotes Hebrews 1:1-2
    Heb 1:1 — Heb 1:2

    The Epistle to the
    HEBREWS

    God’s Supreme Revelation
    1​ God, who at various times and in various ways spoke in time past to the fathers by the prophets, has in these last days spoken to us by His Son, whom He has appointed heir of all things, through whom also He made the worlds;

    This is a correct quoting of the scripture. It is his interpretation of it that I take issue with. He doesn’t mention what Peter says in the book of Acts.

    Act 2:14 — Act 2:21
    Peter’s Sermon
    But Peter, standing up with the eleven, raised his voice and said to them, “Men of Judea and all who dwell in Jerusalem, let this be known to you, and heed my words. For these are not drunk, as you suppose, since it is only the third hour of the day. But this is what was spoken by the prophet Joel:
    ‘And it shall come to pass in the last days, says God,
    That I will pour out of My Spirit on all flesh;
    Your sons and your daughters shall prophesy,
    Your young men shall see visions,
    Your old men shall dream dreams.
    And on My menservants and on My maidservants
    I will pour out My Spirit in those days;
    And they shall prophesy.
    I will show wonders in heaven above
    And signs in the earth beneath:
    Blood and fire and vapor of smoke.
    The sun shall be turned into darkness,
    And the moon into blood,
    Before the coming of the great and awesome day of the Lord.
    And it shall come to pass
    That whoever calls on the name of the Lord
    Shall be saved.’

    Peter quotes the prophets Joel in stating that it will be God Himself who will pour out His Spirit on all flesh and there will be those who prophesy and those who dream dreams and have visions. Note that in both instances the phrase, “in the last days”, is used. We know that God does not contradict Himself when He speaks so the last days of which this preacher speaks cannot be taken as the cessassation of God speaking to His children. With that said we all know that there have been abuses by many who use the phrase, ” God told me to tell you”, .
    The old testament prophet was a prophet of direction because the Holy Spirit wasn’t given as it is today to believers who ask. The new testament prophet is one of confirmation being that the Holy Spirit is freely given to every Spirit- filled believer.
    The Apostle Paul includes instructions for handling the prophetic.

    Why would the Apostle Paul speaking under the anointing of the Holy Spirit say the following:

    1 Corinthians 14:39
    Therefore, brethren, desire earnestly to prophesy, and do not forbid to speak with tongues.

    Why would it be commanded to desire that which is forbidden?

    1 Corinthians 14:29
    Let two or three prophets speak, and let the others judge.

    Why are we told by the Apostle Paul to let prophets speak and then judge as to whether or not the person is hearing from God?

    The 5 fold ministry is not some new teaching but rather are gifts from the Lord.

    Eph 4:11 — Eph 4:15
    And He Himself gave some to be apostles, some prophets, some evangelists, and some pastors and teachers, for the equipping of the saints for the work of ministry, for the edifying of the body of Christ, till we all come to the unity of the faith and of the knowledge of the Son of God, to a perfect man, to the measure of the stature of the fullness of Christ; that we should no longer be children, tossed to and fro and carried about with every wind of doctrine, by the trickery of men, in the cunning craftiness of deceitful plotting, but, speaking the truth in love, may grow up in all things into Him who is the head—Christ—

    The Apostle Paul says that the Lord have these gifts for

    The equipping of the saints for the work of ministry

    For
    the edifying of the body of Christ, till we all come to the unity of the faith and of the knowledge of the Son of God, to a perfect man, to the measure of the stature of the fullness of Christ;

    Ephesians 4:14
    that we should no longer be children, tossed to and fro and carried about with every wind of doctrine, by the trickery of men, in the cunning craftiness of deceitful plotting,

    The Bible warns of false Christs, False Apostles and False prophets. I don’t believe that we are to disregard the authentic because of the existence of the counterfeit.

    We, as Christians, have a responsibility to seek the Lord for ourselves and not to elevate any doctrine, individual or denomination to the place that belongs to Jesus alone.

    Hopefully you don’t see this as a criticism against you because that’s not what my intention was.

    • I agree with you both on these points. The point being made, I think, is to be cautious of those who claim to have a “new ” revelation that is not supported Scripturally. The Holy Spirit is not going to contradict the Word. Too often, these who claim to have a “word from the Lord ” have no Biblical support. Yes, of course there will be prophets with dreams and visions but they will not contradict the Word. I hope I’m explaining myself adequately.

      • What you are saying is correct Marcia, however, that is not what he is saying or how he is coming across. He intentionally/unintentionally omits certain scriptures to make his case which is precisely the reason for the 5 fold ministry. That we would not be duped into following a teaching just because someone has a degree in theology.

      • I believe that there really was a reason that the Apostle Paul said the following:

        1Co 2:1 — 1Co 2:5

        Christ Crucified
        2​ And I, brethren, when I came to you, did not come with excellence of speech or of wisdom declaring to you the testimony of God. For I determined not to know anything among you except Jesus Christ and Him crucified. I was with you in weakness, in fear, and in much trembling. And my speech and my preaching were not with persuasive words of human wisdom, but in demonstration of the Spirit and of power, that your faith should not be in the wisdom of men but in the power of God.

        If there was anyone who could have flaunted his knowledge of theology it was Paul

    • I am a second witness with Tony to you here, Marcia. Justin’s views as expressed in this video here indicate he does NOT apprehend these truths: he has some false teachings. The Lord wants us to continually discern what is OF Him and what is not – the Spirit of truth leads us into all truth at all times, but it is incumbent upon us to be discerning. 😊

  3. Justin Peters is part of the ‘Strange Fire’ congregation who do not believe that there are no ‘first eye witnesses’ in this modern day. Well I was born in 1962, came to the LORD in 1987 and had a first eye witness of Christ in 1990, 2006, 2013. Face to face. Jesus is the same, yesterday, today and forever. These people ‘cessationists’ are false teachers and cloud the eyes through the ‘knowledge of scripture but NOT of Jesus Christ, their false humility of ‘knowing’ is what bewitches people and leads them astray.

      • I’ll find it for you 🙂 xx need to post again, might have to write it up I remember every single detail and it was indeed life changing. He also healed my back completely without even touching me! xx

    • I also am a first eye-witness of Jesus Christ, exactly as described on the Mount of Transfiguration and in Rev. Ch 1 by the apostle John. He really is the same today as then – God dies not lie OR joke. [And again, I am one of those serious types who value truth above all else, and tend to under appreciate humor. I do note that God is not facetious, and therefore when we are being facetious we are acting out of our old selves and not our new selves united with God in Christ.]
      [May I suggest you consider enabling the “like” feature in your comments? That is a helpful community feature.][I apologize for the sloppy proofreading on my part – I do 98% of my blogging on my phone…]
      Xx your sister deanna

    • If you’re talking about John McArthur here, then this is the same man who claims that you can take the mark of the beast and still be saved.

      • I know Tony, I’ve read and seen enough….. I was reading about Cessationists the other day and they are called modern day Pharisees…. thanks Tony x

  4. Marcia, again, know this is all in Christ’s love. No condemnation, just living exhortation! If you have not read some of my testimonies yet, I encourage you to do so.
    (1) About Me and the Writings – Introduction to my testimony AND to the many different writings the Lord has led me to share with the world on the blog that 8 steward for Him 😊 (Note I do not call it my blog)
    https://thelordiswithus.com/about-me-and-the-writings/
    (2) On Meeting with God – Dan Mohler (please read it all, but my testimony appears at the end after the transcript)
    https://thelordiswithus.com/2015/11/30/on-meeting-with-god-dan-mohler/
    (3) Testimonies of Miraculous Healing – This is a link to multiple testimonies. (The most detailed regarding my personal testimony is in Part IV The Volleyball Player and the Triple-Boarded Phusicain)
    https://thelordiswithus.com/testimonies-of-miraculous-healing/

    Love you, sis!

  5. The bottom line is signs and wonders should not be sought after because that’s when you run into trouble and flakey teaching/beliefs. Signs and wonders are to follow those who believe. Signs are used to point the way . If they are pointing to anyone but Jesus then I would tell you to run.

    • Discernment is key, Hope. God gives us free will – we may react out of the old man as you describe yourself doing here, or we may glorify Him by responding in accordance with the Holy Spirit. Deny that old self or deny Jesus – our choice, with loss or gain of the inheritance He is pleased to give us.

Leave a Reply

